“When Do I Get a Break?” and Other Thoughts: Learning About an Exposure to a New Pandemic

Many of you know that I’m a cancer patient. I felt a lump in my breast December 10th and was diagnosed on December 19th. My life hasn’t been the same since.

I had my mastectomy on February 24th, which was the same week that the Biogen meeting screwed over Boston with COVID-19 infections. That news didn’t become public until later—after I already had been to follow-up appointments at five medical institutions with no extra precaution against the virus.

From March 11th onward, I saw different medical institutions change their protocol with intake for patients and visitors. The procedures change daily as new information arises.

I had my egg retrieval on March 19th. I was ordered to be monitored by someone for 24 hours after the procedure. I was told this took priority over any call for social distancing. Two friends took shifts in caring for me in their homes. Each had a spare room where I stayed and had next to no contact with them.

Below is a picture of my breakfast in my spare room at one friend’s house on March 20th, the day after my egg retrieval. A few hours after I ate this breakfast, I got a call from one hospital stating that I had been briefly exposed to a healthcare worker, who later tested positive for COVID-19.

90315473_10112581220036010_5333621526409248768_n.jpg

Even if I test negative for it, I can’t avoid hospitals as a cancer patient. If I avoid them, I don’t get cancer treatment. If I go to them, I can be exposed again to COVID-19.

If you have to stay home, it’s so that those with COVID-19 infections can be treated and also so that those with high-priority medical needs can receive care.

Please keep this in mind if you feel tired of hibernating in your homes. Remember that there are still those who are homeless and those who cannot socially distance in places like prisons—and those were major issues before this pandemic.

3 thoughts on ““When Do I Get a Break?” and Other Thoughts: Learning About an Exposure to a New Pandemic

  1. Pingback: How Close Does Pain Need to Be to Impact Your Spirituality? | Unfiltered Snapshot

  2. Pingback: Lunch with Lindsay: Work, Social Media, White Supremacy, Systemic Change, Global Movements, Elections, and Parenting During a Pandemic | Unfiltered Snapshot

  3. Pingback: Proving Your Pain | Unfiltered Snapshot

Leave a comment